Payless ShoeSource Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Payless ShoeSource
Shop Ballet or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Women's Alex Side Bow Mary Jane

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Payless ShoeSource.

Women's Alex Side Bow Mary Jane

Average Customer Rating:
4.594 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
31 out of 32(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Women's Alex Side Bow Mary Jane
Review 1 for Women's Alex Side Bow Mary Jane
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
Caroline6999
Location:Spencer, IA
Age:45-54
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

Love these shoes !!

Date:December 9, 2012
Pros: price, comfort, style, true to size, soft upper, flexible sole
My daughter wanted me to order a pair of shoes from Payless for an Xmas gift & as I was scrolling I ran across these..so I decided to ordered 2 pr...size 10 & 11...not sure which would fit. Im keeping both !! The 10 is perfect bare footed & the 11 with socks. These exceeded my expectation for comfort...the toe box is deep enough that they do not cramp your toes...yet they are not boxy looking. The upper material...being man made is very soft & flexible...not stiff like typical vinyl/poly...so they dont show creasing where they bend. The sole is also very flexible & puts a spring in your step while feeling supportive. If you have ever wore Merril, Clarks or Borne flats similar to these..they feel very comparable!! For the price...think Im going to order another round..wish they came in other colors tho. You wont be disappointed !
15 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Women's Alex Side Bow Mary Jane
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
doggielover
Age:55-64
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

Great Shoes

Date:April 29, 2013
Cons: would like more colors
I love these shoes. Very comfortable and the size fits perfect. Not too tight or too small. Can wear them all day and my feet don't hurt.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Women's Alex Side Bow Mary Jane
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
mariasbg
Location:Detroit
Age:55-64
Purchase from Payless:From Payless.com

CUTE & COMFORTABLE

Date:April 11, 2013
Pros: great pricecomfort, cute
Cons: none
I just wore these on a rainy day , while doing all my errands. They're wide enough. Enough support. I didn't think about my feet once , because I was comfortable!! I love these shoes!
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Women's Alex Side Bow Mary Jane
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt a half size larger than marked
Full size smaller
Felt a half size larger than marked
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
Nattie
Location:Barbados
Age:25-34
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

I love these shoes but...

Date:February 17, 2013
Pros: comfortable, attractive
Cons: starts undoing after a few wearings, does no air well
i have two pairs of these shoes, black and brown. I bought the brown first and just fell for these shoes, very comfortable, nice style and I could walk in them all day long with no issues. I am a teacher so these were all pluses, so i went and bought the black two weeks after. In the third week the left, brown shoe started to undo and I had to get them stitched. The black pair does not air well at all and was stinky after three wears. I don't usually have this issue and did not have it with the brown at all, so I am at a lost. I asked some of my friends who have the shoes (lots of teacher have them) and three reported that they came undone as well and about five said yes they had to air the shoes.
It is a lovely shoe but it does have some issues.
Review 5 for Women's Alex Side Bow Mary Jane
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
LizzyK
Location:New Orleans
Age:Over 65
Purchase from Payless:From Both Payless store and Payless.com

WoW

Date:January 13, 2013
Pros: dressy, good finish on the 'leather', look better that traditional ballet flats, relatively inexpensive
Cons: i looked for a store with brown but no luck
I have never ordered the Lower East Side brand, and I had stayed with mainly American Eagle and Predictions, which fit my 13 size foot. Some brands do not even if they are marked size 13 - Trotters don't fit me in 13, for example.. I am happy to say these fit well! YEA!
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Women's Alex Side Bow Mary Jane
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
eafuhrman
Location:Tallahassee, FL
Age:25-34
Purchase from Payless:From Payless.com

Finally!

Date:November 19, 2012
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I have been looking for wide width, size 13 Mary Jane's for YEARS! I have owned a couple other flats from Payless but my feet would cramp and arches would hurt if I wore regular flats too long simply because there was nothing holding them onto my feet. The strap across the top was all I needed. The bow is eh, okay but considering how perfectly these fit I can deal with it. I have wide feet with a bunion on my right foot (of course!) that would also ache after prolonged wear in other flats. Not with these. Truly, these are perfect! I got them in black and brown and may buy one more of each just because I don't want these to go out-of-stock anytime soon!
32 of 36 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Women's Alex Side Bow Mary Jane
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
Nessiemc99
Location:SC
Age:35-44
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

Great shoes

Date:November 14, 2012
Love these shoes. So comfortable, you feel like you're wearing pillows on your feet, yet they are very sturdy, and stylish. Wish I had bought more than one pair. Can't wait to go back to get more.
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Alex Side Bow Mary Jane
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
Tonya
Location:Barbados
Age:25-34
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

NICE

Date:November 11, 2012
It's a nice drive for me since i drive most of the day. Brought a size under my shoe size cause it looked like it would stretch which it did. Got them for a nice price in BARBADOS.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Women's Alex Side Bow Mary Jane
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DJconnor
Age:35-44
Purchase from Payless:From Both Payless store and Payless.com

I really like the shoes

Date:October 25, 2012
Flats typically take a while for me to break in. With these, no blisters for me, although I had to buy a half size up. A very sturdy sole. I bought this shoe in both black and brown, and so far have been satisfied with both. I read previous reviews about the brown ones looking cheap but I disagree. The black and brown (which is more of a dark metallic, oxford brown) look nice with both jeans and a skirt. My only complaint is the side bow. Sometimes, a side bow can make one look lopsided and I wish they were slightly more symmetrical. Other than that, they are comfortable, look good, and probably my work go-to shoe for the winter (where we don't get a lot of snow).
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Women's Alex Side Bow Mary Jane
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lokee85
Age:25-34
Purchase from Payless:From Both Payless store and Payless.com

Very Cute Shoes!

Date:October 17, 2012
Pros: comfortable after being broke in, thicker sole than most flats, cute style
I bought these shoes after I had been looking for a cute flat, but with a little more of a sole, because I'm hard on shoes. These are perfect for me, because they have a thicker sole than most flats do. They do take a bit of breaking in, and they feel a bit tight at first, but once they are broke in, they are very comfortable.
Review 11 for Women's Alex Side Bow Mary Jane
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
kdcperez07
Location:East Peoria, IL
Age:35-44
Purchase from Payless:From Both Payless store and Payless.com

Cute, but cheap looking

Date:October 14, 2012
Pros: inexpensive, comfortable fit
Cons: look cheap, cheap insole
I have been looking for some flats to wear for my part time office job. I don't want to spend very much on shoes since it's just a part time job. I also want shoes that can be worn with jeans for a more casual look. After reading all the rave reviews on these shoes, I went to my local store to try them on. I have to admit I was underwhelmed by these shoes seeing them in person versus online. The black are much cuter than the brown ones. The brown ones look very, very cheap. I bought them in both colors anyway since they are inexpensive, comfortable and I had a coupon for 20% off. I have yet to wear them so I don't know if they really are as comfortable as the other reviews state. The soles are a cheap plastic which I know will make my feet sweat, so I'm not a fan of that. I prefer a faux suede insole to minimize sweaty feet. I recommend these only if you're looking for an inexpensive but cute pair of flats.
Review 12 for Women's Alex Side Bow Mary Jane
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Micheleks
Location:Avon, Indiana
Age:35-44
Purchase from Payless:From Both Payless store and Payless.com

Definitely a keeper!

Date:September 30, 2012
Pros: true to size, modern and very cute
Cons: strap on bow side can rub top of foot., not a bogo item.
When I saw these shoes appear online I was disappointed that they were not part of the BOGO deal and considered an EVERYDAY VALUE deal only. However I decided to buy the shoes (in both black and brown) for both my daughter and me.
They are wonderful shoes, so far they are holding up to a lot of use. They are very cute shoes on. Both my 11 year old daughter and I wear Womens Size 13 shoes and both of us love them equally as much. Her for the young look she feels they have and me for the comfort I needed.
Many women who wear size 13 worry if they will fit comfortably or if they end up being just a bit small as we cannot of course buy larger. These shoes fit true to size, when many I have tried in Payless in 13 don't. The only thing I have to complain about is the breaking in process and the strap then ends in a box rubs the top of my foot right in that spot when I walk too long. However it is a very small complaint and the shoe otherwise is fabulous. It is a shoe worth trying if you want comfort, cuteness and affordability.
18 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Women's Alex Side Bow Mary Jane
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MamaC

Great shoes!

Date:September 30, 2012
I love, love, LOVE these shoes. They are ridiculously comfortable and my feet never hurt, even after wearing them for 8 hour shifts working retail. I bought a pair in brown and black. The store didn't have wide widths but I was able to wear socks and heat the shoes up with a hair dryer, effectively stretching them out and making a perfect fit. Awesome value as well. I would highly recommend.
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Women's Alex Side Bow Mary Jane
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Penney
Location:NW Arkansas
Age:55-64
Purchase from Payless:From Payless.com

Great shoe!

Date:September 22, 2012
I just bought these shoes and have only worm them a little - yesterday and today! It's hard to find a shoe I like, can ware to work and be comfortable. These shoes look and feel like they're going to be great. I need size 12 wide and have several shoes from Payless online. I would like to see colors. Other reviews talked about available colors which are not on the web site now. I would love to see more colors.
Review 15 for Women's Alex Side Bow Mary Jane
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Adri
Location:NJ
Age:25-34
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

OMG!

Date:September 19, 2012
Very rarely do I write product reviews online. However, I HAD TO tell you about these shoes! I am a teacher and am on my feet all day! These are THE MOST COMFORTABLE shoes I have EVER worn! I even bought multiple pairs to stack in my closet (my hubby hates me, lol). Buy these. You won't be disappointed.
11 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Women's Alex Side Bow Mary Jane
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SJL06
Location:Sacramento, CA
Age:18-24
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

Like Heaven!

Date:September 10, 2012
Pros: comfortable, professional, trendy, functional
Cons: sweaty
I LOVE THESE SHOES! I never write reviews for products, but I'm so excited about these that I just had to. I needed to find some shoes that looked professional but were also comfortable, since I will be standing all day. These are spot on! The only thing that bothers me a little is the material on the inside of the shoe. I feel like if my feet were to sweat, it may feel it a bit awkward. But other than that, these are perfect! They are so comfortable, even more so than my reliable sneakers! PLEASE DON'T EVER DISCONTINUE THESE!
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Women's Alex Side Bow Mary Jane
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Funnylady
Location:Los Angeles, CA
Age:25-34
Purchase from Payless:From Both Payless store and Payless.com

Back for More

Date:September 1, 2012
Pros: comfortable, affordable, can wear with work clothes and casual clothes
I bought a black pair of these in March and once I broke them in they were perfect. I have to replace them because they have wore down a lot but that's because I've put them through their paces. I walk to and from work which is about 2miles and I just walk a lot in general. I've walked countless miles in these shoes so I've probably put the wear and tear on them in six months that the average person might do in about a year. The shoe has good arch support and cushioning. You do have to break it in though but after that it is smooth sailing. I always get asked where I got them from when I wear them. I guess it's because they look comfortable but they also are cute enough...often times we have to sacrifice one "c" for the other. These shoes are a nice middle ground.
Review 18 for Women's Alex Side Bow Mary Jane
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sanita
Location:Washington, D.C.
Age:18-24

SO Comfortable

Date:August 27, 2012
I absolutely LOVE these shoes! I had to run into payless in D.C. because I was wearing such painful old shoes that were cutting my feet. As soon as i put these on it was such a relief! These are stylish and comfortable - a great combination that's hard to find! Wish they made them in more colors!
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Women's Alex Side Bow Mary Jane
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cresha
Age:25-34
Purchase from Payless:From Both Payless store and Payless.com

MY BABY

Date:August 25, 2012
Pros: comfort, price
MY DAUGHTER IS ONLY 10 AND SHE LOVES THESE SHOES. AND SHE WAS HAPPY BECAUSE SHE WAS HE ONLY ONE WHO HAD THE SHOES
1 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Women's Alex Side Bow Mary Jane
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
Anonymous
Age:25-34
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

Love these shoes

Date:July 2, 2012
Pros: very comfortable
Cons: only available in black and brown
When I find a good pair of shoes, I wear them til they fall apart. And not many shoes seem to work out for me (high arch, narrow heel, wide ball of foot... ugh), which isn't good when you're on your feet and running on a concrete and stone floor at work all day. I spent weeks shopping once I realized my last work shoes needed to be replaced, with no luck. But when I tried these on, even with super painful feet from standing all day in bad shoes, I knew immediately they were a winner. I've had them for a few months now and they're holding up beautifully. I'm considering buying a few more pairs, just in case they're discontinued. But before that -- could you make some in ivory? They're so comfortable I'd love to wear them for my wedding, but black or brown just won't work.
14 of 14 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>