Payless ShoeSource Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Payless ShoeSource
Shop Sneakers or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Men's Flip Skate

Men's Flip Skate

Average Customer Rating:
2.5 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
6
5 out of 16(31%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Men's Flip Skate
Review 1 for Men's Flip Skate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt narrower than marked
Narrower than marked
Felt narrower than marked
Wider than marked
kevkage

The Greatest of All

Date:February 24, 2013
Pros: great, comfortable, makes you cool
The tan version of this Airwalk is the greatest, I have worn it nonstop for the past twelve years. Every time it gets worn out, I replace it with the exact same pair. Thank you Payless for continuing to sell this amazing product. I highly recommend this awesome sneaker. Airwalk 4 Life son you heard?
16 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Flip Skate
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt a half size smaller than marked
Full size smaller
Felt a half size smaller than marked
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
Tigerfan81
Location:Sedalia MO
Age:55-64
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

Airwalk Flip

Date:April 4, 2014
Have been wearing the Flip for at least 12 years. Really loved the durability, fit, and style of the original Flip which featured suede (real leather) uppers. Lost some points when replaced by the Flip II a couple of years ago - which are all man-made materials. Recently noticed it's now just the "Flip" again, though they are still 100% man-made.
I normally buy two pair at a time, or stagger purchases so I have two "good" pair at a time and rotate wearing them, so they get a day of rest before going out again. Sometimes spend 8-10 hours on my feet and they still feel comfortable (good socks a must to help wick moisture away if you have a tendency to sweat). After 12-15 months, they become yard-work wear, not bad for shoes that are worn a lot and get infrequent brush/wipe off - if any care at all.
Still wish they would bring back the original leather version...
Review 3 for Men's Flip Skate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
fusionlover
Location:Temecula CA
Age:55-64
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

Great Shoe

Date:May 8, 2013
Pros: style, durable
This is a great shoe. Am ordering another pair. Shoe is holding up very well. Very satisfied.
26 of 29 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Flip Skate
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
JeffB
Age:25-34
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

Not the best shoe

Date:March 7, 2013
Pros: size fit just right
Cons: feel every rock/pebble, holds water like sponge, uncomfortable
I bought these shoes after looking all over the store. When looking at these, the employee who worked there "recommended" them to me because she loved them and wore hers all the time. So I tried them on, and they fit just right, and were not too big or small. So I bought them! However, that was about the only good thing to them. Once I started to wear them, I noticed that you'd feel every single rock or pebble, and you could even feel the rubber sole under the foot padding. Watch out for any amount of water, these shoes soak up water like a sponge! First time wearing them in wet weather, and they were soaked in a few seconds flat and it wasn't even a puddle of water!
For the price I paid, these shoes could of been better. They are right now splitting apart after almost a year of service, and I didn't even use them for skateboarding!
2 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Flip Skate
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
Hardwareman
Location:Joplin mo
Age:Over 65
Purchase from Payless:From Both Payless store and Payless.com

Not so great anymore

Date:February 20, 2013
I have wore these shoes for years. The last 3 pairs have come apart at the seams. Tried superglue. Not so good. Ready for a better shoe
ANOTHER GOOD PRODUCT GONE BAD
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Flip Skate
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt a half size smaller than marked
Full size smaller
Felt a half size smaller than marked
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
Ian6803
Location:Olney, MD
Age:18-24
Purchase from Payless:From Payless.com

Very poor quality shoes

Date:February 2, 2013
Pros: price
Cons: too tight, very poor quality, tongue way too big
I bought these shoes because they looked stylish and the price was right. When I got the shoes, the price was about the only thing that was right. They were a little too small for my feet and the tongue of the shoe was way too big, very awkward.
Within a week, the seams at the front of the shoe were ripping and a good layer of the bottom of the shoe had been scraped off. Absolutely worthless shoes, I would suggest investing your money in a better pair.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Flip Skate
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt narrower than marked
Narrower than marked
Felt narrower than marked
Wider than marked
TheOne69
Location:Mesa
Age:25-34
Purchase from Payless:From Both Payless store and Payless.com

Horrible Shoes

Date:January 16, 2013
I got 2 pairs of these Airwalks back in November and less than 2 months later both pairs are no good. The glue comes apart off the soles of the shoes these shoes were cheaply designed and I will not recomend these shoes to anyone ever again that's how horrible and disappointing these shoes are.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Flip Skate
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
Bubbie
Location:MD
Age:55-64
Purchase from Payless:From Both Payless store and Payless.com

Something's changed

Date:December 6, 2012
We've bought 6 prs of these shoes over the last 2 years. We bought 2 pair about 2 months ago. In less than a month, my husband was having to crazy glue the toe flap back in place. He has done this repeatedly. We still have one new pair in a box and that is when I usually buy 2 or 3 more pairs so he never runs out! I'm going to wait to see how pair #2 wears and if it's good, like the previous 4, I'll try them again next year. If it fails at the toe or heel seam again, I will write again and find a different shoe. So all I can say is: something's changed in the manufacturing process. Too bad. Great comfort, fair price, nice look, and I'd have continued to buy several a year...and recommended them! Can't honestly do that now.
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Men's Flip Skate
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt wider than marked
Narrower than marked
Felt wider than marked
Wider than marked
KPeter

Poor quality

Date:October 27, 2012
I will be returning my 2nd pair of these shoes. Original pair was purchased in August 2012 and both shoes started having problems within weeks. The white trim (not sewn on, just fake stitching) started separating from the shoe in several places around the toe and heel. I returned then for an exchange. The second new pair was slightly better. They only started to fall apart after a month. Same issues. But now the right heel has almost entirely separated from the shoe. BTW, I am very easy on my shoes. I have purchased Airwalk shoes for years. My first pair lasted 10 years. Sadly they were in better shape after 10 years then both recent pairs after only 1 month of wear. Quality is totally absent. Very sad!!! Wish I had kept my old pair.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Men's Flip Skate
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
mike300800
Location:Houston, Tx
Age:45-54
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

Very Poor Quality NOW

Date:October 11, 2012
Cons: falls apart, very poor quality
This used to be a good shoe but they changed it in the last year or so. It looks the same and fits the same etc. but the sole construction is VERY POOR now. It begins to wear out immediately and within a few weeks its got holes in the bottom of the sole. I would not buy this shoe. Not only does it fall apart but it also makes my feet hurt. I love the color and the style, and if they return the sole construction to what it used to be, it might be good again. Please do not waste your money, I believe you will be very disappointed. Payless has offered to refund my money, my experience with them is positive as a company.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Men's Flip Skate
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
red2002yzfr1
Age:35-44
Purchase from Payless:From Payless.com

They changed - Now they fall apart

Date:September 21, 2012
Cons: was a good shoe for the money, cheaply made now
I have been buying the shoe for years now, happy to purchase every time. I needed a new pair for the summer of 2012. I started wearing the new pair in June by Aug the sole had tore open around the "triangle" & also the sole had come off the back of the shoe, they also have a weird "furry" texture on the bottom of the sole. I took them back, got a new pair and the same thing happened to them, not even 1 month has passed - the sole has torn open and the back part has come off the shoe. Now one may say I might be rough on shoes, that would not be the case, I still have a pair I bought last summer that look better then the new ones and other than the sole being worn, are still good. I tried to take the second pair of shoes back and they would not take back again. I am really sad that it looks like Airwalk has cut back on there manufacturing and now there shoes have suffered. If you come across these shoes that have the beige in the sole, those are the good ones, all black soles are the cheaply made ones. If I see that there is a another design change I would be tempted to purchase again, but I am gambling,
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Men's Flip Skate
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
PrincessPscakery

Completely fell apart....twice!

Date:August 28, 2012
I bought these for my husband for his birthday. They were very comfortable and he liked them a lot. He wore them every day to work. He works at a desk, so it's not like he did any rough work in them. After only 2 weeks, the sole of the shoe was separating from the shoe. The whole heel and come off. So we got a new pair. This one fell apart in the same manner in only 4 days. I also got him a pair of boots, that had similar quality problems. We had them fall apart twice also before we just gave up and went elsewhere.
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Men's Flip Skate
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
mflowers
Location:Houston TX
Age:45-54
Purchase from Payless:From Both Payless store and Payless.com

Used to be a good shoe

Date:August 10, 2012
Pros: style, comfort, price
Cons: no duarability
I have been wearing the tan Airwalk Flip Skate Shoe for Men for several years now. I originally bought them because Van's stopped making the model of shoe that I liked and I did not like the way the replacement that they came out with fit. I stuck with this shoe because I liked the styling, it fit well, was comfortable, and it did not hurt that the price was right. The first few pairs did great however the quality of the last three pairs that i have bought has been significantly worse. The upper part of the shoe still seems to hold up the same but the heel begins to wear out immediately and after a few weeks starts to deteriorate. I do wear the shoes everyday but only for everyday getting around so they should last longer than that. So now I am spending a lot more more than I would on a more expensive shoe because I am having to buy a new pair so often. Something changed because I did not have this problem previously !
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Men's Flip Skate
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
Prodigious1One
Location:Marietta, GA
Age:25-34
Purchase from Payless:From Both Payless store and Payless.com

OK, but probably best for skating

Date:August 10, 2012
Pros: comfortable, keep feet warm
Cons: not for hard walking
I love Airwalk shoes. They were my favorite brand when I was around 12. I bought this pair in an air of nostalgia, but these sneakers are not strong enough for me. I walk a lot and don't really care for my shoes as I did in the past. These shoes are durable and comfortable but if you walk a lot they will wear faster. The sole is strong, but has broken under my left foot. Because of this, I think these shoes are best for skaters, who need their comfort, protection and flat sole. This is my first time wearing flat soles as an adult. I'm used to rugged shoes that I can abuse without worry. Also these shoes are not good in the rain, but in general they keep the feet warm. When it is very hot, they keep the feet too warm in my opinion, but they can be depended in cool temperatures. I still like Airwalk, but I will choose a different type of shoe in the future.
10 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Men's Flip Skate
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt a half size larger than marked
Full size smaller
Felt a half size larger than marked
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt wider than marked
Narrower than marked
Felt wider than marked
Wider than marked
FireHawk
Location:Dayton, Ohio
Age:25-34
Purchase from Payless:From Both Payless store and Payless.com

Great Shoe!

Date:April 12, 2012
Pros: style
I have had this shoe for over a year now and it still looks great and is durable.
28 of 28 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Men's Flip Skate
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt wider than marked
Narrower than marked
Felt wider than marked
Wider than marked
Saintwood
Location:Sylmar, CA
Age:55-64
Purchase from Payless:From Both Payless store and Payless.com

Great Shoe for Balance Issues.

Date:February 5, 2012
Pros: excellent materials and design
Cons: needs better lining at inside heel.
I have been buying this shoe for 10 years now. This shoe provides excellent support and balance for BIG persons with weak ankles and knees. Before this shoe, I used to turn my ankle on any little rock. I have not sprained my ankles in 10 years since I started wearing this shoe. I buy them as my casual work shoe. Since I teach high school art classes, they get dripped on but clean up well. When they are stained beyond cleaning they become my house and studio shoes and after that they become my yard shoes. All tolled, each pair gets about 2 years of use. The only flaw with the shoe is the inner lining material at the heel of the shoe. It tends to pillow and tear after about a year. This does not affect the wearing, but could be improved upon.
70 of 71 found this review helpful.