Payless ShoeSource Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Payless ShoeSource
Shop Athleisure or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Women's Gem Skimmer

Women's Gem Skimmer

Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
19 out of 21(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Women's Gem Skimmer
Review 1 for Women's Gem Skimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt narrower than marked
Narrower than marked
Felt narrower than marked
Wider than marked
craazypeppermint
Location:DE
Age:35-44
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

my personal favorite

Date:May 16, 2013
i LOVE these shoes! iv been looking for months to buy a new pair in the stores. (i hate to buy on line) i go threw about two pair a year.(im very hard on shoes) i wear them all the time because they feel like a sneaker but look like i cared about dressing up a little. i have six kids and four are under 4yrs old. i need to be able to run after them but not look like "THAT mom" i wish they came in wide and in other colors. i get a 9 but im really an 8 1/2 wide.
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Women's Gem Skimmer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt a half size smaller than marked
Full size smaller
Felt a half size smaller than marked
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
jad4
Location:la,ca
Age:18-24

nice

Date:March 25, 2014
the shoes look nice when I put them on however I wore them with the socks for these types of shoes because if not I felt they bothered me from the back.
Review 3 for Women's Gem Skimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
Alethia
Location:Denver
Age:25-34
Purchase from Payless:From Payless.com

Love these shoes

Date:December 28, 2013
I am waiting for them to restock so I can order a new pair because I wore my other pair out. I wear them constantly! They go with everything, and I can walk around wherever I want and no complaints or blisters. I bought them after I broke my foot last summer, and wanted something that would not confine my foot, and I love it! I am recommending them to my grandma too because she can't find a shoe that is comfortable and doesn't confine her feet. I wish there was another color, but I will still buy them in black no matter what!
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Women's Gem Skimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
shoelover12345
Location:Atlanta,ga
Age:35-44
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

my 4th & 5th pair

Date:December 9, 2013
Pros: decent price for what you get
Cons: need more colors, wish they stocked them in the store
need i say more. I LOVE these shoes. I love it that you can wear them without socks! cute and easy slip on shoes. they wash up great and mold to your feet as you break them in.
don't stop making these shoes!!!!!
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Women's Gem Skimmer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt a full size smaller than marked
Full size smaller
Felt a full size smaller than marked
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
Janabanana

Too Short

Date:July 26, 2013
I ordered these shoes in an 8 and when they came they were at least
a full size too small. I have very narrow feet and if it would have been just a half size too small they would have been ok. They are darling and I am
reordering them in a 9.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Women's Gem Skimmer
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
ElBo

Find something better

Date:February 14, 2013
These are fairly comfortable and I liked finding a slip-on. They look kind of like slippers or socks, and people often thought I wasn't wearing shoes. They also fall apart pretty quickly. The sole is almost completely worn away, and what's left is separating from the shoes. I should have gotten something sturdier.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Women's Gem Skimmer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
camcams
Location:TX
Age:18-24
Purchase from Payless:From Both Payless store and Payless.com

Perfect

Date:June 10, 2012
Pros: style
Cons: slippery
I work at a bank, and we are required to wear black dress shoes. I always wear flat's but after a while my feet would hurt. So I decided to buy these and wear them when im working in the back! I love the style, and the fit, i sometimes forget im even wearing them, the only thing I really dislike the the bottom of the shoe. They are super slippery!!! I work in carpet and tile, and i've been this close .... to hugging the floor! lol...
Overall they are nice shoes, but I would not buy them again. Just because of the material on the bottom likes to collect lint and becomes very slippery!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Gem Skimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JAMH
Age:55-64
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

Don't Stop Making These

Date:May 28, 2012
Pros: comfortable, flattering style
Cons: woud be nice it they were a little less money
I purchased these skimmers in black and another pair in tan at the beginning of last summer, and I wore them all the time. They were very comfortable, and I have a hard time finding shoes that fit comfortably anymore. The style was flattering, making my feet look more slender. I often need to have a wide shoe to get a comfortable fit, but the 8 1/2 fit really well. I wore them with jeans or capris and was very happy with them. Because I wear them without any socks or footies, they tend to get a bad odor by the end of the summer, so I tried to replace them with new ones for this summer. Unfortunately only the black are available now. I read that someone washed theirs and they came out fine, so I think I'll give that a try. And the new black ones I just purchased have been through mall parking lots drenched with rain a couple of times already with no ill effects, for which I am thankful. But I would like to plead with Payless: 1. Please do not stop making these and 2. Bring the tan ones back as well. 3. Brown would be a nice color to add as well. They are comfortable and nice looking casual shoes, not trendy, so please do not discontinue making them.
60 of 61 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Women's Gem Skimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
Loela16
Location:McHenry, IL
Age:35-44
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

Awesome Shoes!!

Date:May 22, 2012
Pros: cute, versitile, affordable
These are great shoes. I can wear them to work, running around town, trip to Great America, cutting the grass......the list goes on. Just slid your feet right in and you are on your way.
12 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Women's Gem Skimmer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt wider than marked
Narrower than marked
Felt wider than marked
Wider than marked
catens
Age:25-34
Purchase from Payless:From Both Payless store and Payless.com

worst. shoes. ever!

Date:March 15, 2012
These shoes are comfortable, but I wore them around for less than two weeks before I had worn through the soles of the shoes at the heel. I only wore them to walk a few blocks to and from work, for my retail job, and to go on walks with my toddler. I didn't do any high impact activity, and I certainly never tried to run or really work out in these.
If you want an athletic shoe, save your money and buy some running shoes. If you want a sneaker to get you from house to car to store & repeat, these may be for you.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Women's Gem Skimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
3il33h
Age:25-34
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

I love these shoes

Date:February 16, 2012
I bought these shoes for work since I'm always walking back & forth in the office. They are extremely comfortable & very stylish. I work @ a hospital & it goes great with my scrubs! This product is worth every dime!!
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Women's Gem Skimmer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt a half size smaller than marked
Full size smaller
Felt a half size smaller than marked
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt narrower than marked
Narrower than marked
Felt narrower than marked
Wider than marked
krazykat
Location:Newfield, NJ
Age:55-64
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

nana

Date:June 30, 2011
These are well-made and stylish, yet casual. However, I wish they came in a wide width because I had to buy a half size larger to compensate for the narrow width. They are a bit pricey also. Payless used to be low in prices. I was surprised to see how much the prices had increased since my last visit.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Women's Gem Skimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt a half size smaller than marked
Full size smaller
Felt a half size smaller than marked
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
alero00
Age:25-34
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

Comfy and Casual but a little pricey

Date:June 15, 2011
I don't wear open toed sandals so I needed something casual to wear with skirts and skorts. These are cute and comfy. I'm still not sure on the sizing. I went up a half size. It feels big in the heel, but a smaller size was too tight in the toe. Even though it's big in the heel, they don't slip. The sole has a suede type material on the ball of the foot, making it a bit slippery. It's ok for outside and around the house, but I would not recommend it walking on a slick floor all day. They are a bit on the high side for price. I was getting two shoes during BOGO, so at least a got some savings.
Oh, and I tried them on in the store, they only had black in the store. No tan in any size.
23 of 24 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Women's Gem Skimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
BobbieB
Location:Denver, CO
Age:18-24
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

Great Sneaker Alternative

Date:May 28, 2011
Pros: attractive, comfortable, stay on well, sneaker alternative
Cons: slightly expensive
I work with children so I originally was looking for a sneaker but none of the styles that are out lately are really my style. When I stumbled upon this shoe, I fell in love. It's a kind of "ruff and tumble" type flat. It has great traction on the sole and is comfortable. It also comes up a little higher on my foot than my ballet flats, it's not right at my toe line - which is helpful for an everyday flat and they don't slide off my foot super easy. I'll be able to run around all day and be comfortable. I love them!
22 of 22 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Women's Gem Skimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
veenie1912
Location:Cleveland OH
Age:45-54
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

Very comfy

Date:May 19, 2011
Pros: i washed them and they came out fine.
The first time I wore it was a rendezvous to the local UPS center. Bad idea but the shoes are comfortable.
9 of 33 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Women's Gem Skimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt a half size smaller than marked
Full size smaller
Felt a half size smaller than marked
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
Mallie
Location:NY, NY
Age:25-34
Purchase from Payless:From Both Payless store and Payless.com

Cute and comfy

Date:May 12, 2011
Very comfortable and offer much more support than your average flat. I work in a business casual office (but leaning more toward the business than the casual). For my work, they look a little too casual with a skirt, but I can definitely wear them with dress pants just like I would with any other pair of black flats. I still look professional and my feet are super comfy. I may have to order another pair!
They ran small on me and I had to go up half a size. However, my friend bought them too and she went down half a size. Highly recommended.
13 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Women's Gem Skimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt a half size smaller than marked
Full size smaller
Felt a half size smaller than marked
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
kdcperez07
Location:East Peoria, IL
Age:35-44
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

Very cute!

Date:April 21, 2011
Pros: cute, comfy, casual, color goes with everything
Cons: sizing can be off in the tan color, a little pricey for payless!
I got these to run errands in because I can just slip them on and go, plus they're a neutral color so they'll go with anything.
Warning: they do fit differently in tan than in black. I tried both on in the store. I can wear 8 1/2 in both, but 9 felt better on my feet in the tan for some reason.
Also, I remember when Payless was cheap! Anymore, they're kinda pricey compared to what they used to be. I had a 20% off coupon, but I wish I could have saved more.
17 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Women's Gem Skimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
peace
Location:Iowa
Age:18-24
Purchase from Payless:From Both Payless store and Payless.com

Loved them!

Date:March 31, 2011
Pros: comfort, style
Great shoe! :) I was surprised how much I love them! I wear them all the time now. It's a fun shoe without sacrificing comfort!
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Women's Gem Skimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt a half size larger than marked
Full size smaller
Felt a half size larger than marked
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt wider than marked
Narrower than marked
Felt wider than marked
Wider than marked
Nanuet
Age:35-44
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

skimmer

Date:February 19, 2011
I bought this shoe at a local Payless store and actually returned to buy the other two pairs in my size. These are similar to a style sold last year and I did not want to miss out on these as I did on the last year's style. These are extremely comfortable yet stylish. I feel like I'm wearing "comfort" shoes while still looking professional. Thanks for offering these!
35 of 35 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Women's Gem Skimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
NOLAJen
Location:New Orleans, LA
Age:45-54
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

Awesome all-purpose shoes!

Date:January 29, 2011
Pros: wear nearly anywhere, comfortable as a second skin
Cons: not much arch support - get insert for long walks
I never write reviews, but these shoes deserve one. Stylish enough to wear for casual business, comfortable enough to wear 24/7. I am ordering two more pairs to ensure I have them for years.
33 of 33 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>