Payless ShoeSource Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Payless ShoeSource
Shop Dress or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Women's Gretchen Wedge

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Payless ShoeSource.

Women's Gretchen Wedge

Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
20 out of 20(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Women's Gretchen Wedge
Review 1 for Women's Gretchen Wedge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
LizzyK
Location:New Orleans
Age:Over 65
Purchase from Payless:From Both Payless store and Payless.com

My favorite shoe

Date:January 12, 2013
Pros: good quality shoe especially for the money, very pretty, available in larger sizes, plenty of toe room
Cons: i worry about the life of the elastic strap, be careful in water puddles
I have large feet for a woman, longer than usual but not as wide as would be associated with larger feet - so I usually order 13 W to insure comfort.. That worked perfectly for me with this shoe - plus the expanding elastic top strap is wide enough to not cut into my foot I do worry that the elastic strap might stretch but after about four months it is still like-new. They ARE suede so you do have to take that into consideration (don't try waking in heavy rain with these pretty shoes. I would love to have these in brown but I cannot find them, must be discontinued in my size.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Women's Gretchen Wedge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
armygirl1715
Age:25-34
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

love these shoes!!

Date:November 29, 2012
Pros: great for being on your feet!, adorable!, very cushy!
i was looking for something to go with a work skirt that had a low heel since i go up an down ladders all the time! but it needed to be comfortable enough to be on me feet with for 8 hours a day. these shoes felt like air! so comfy and pretty darn cute! i got a few compliments about how cute they are! now they are starting to wear out, which is understandable since i wear them all the time! i hope they get more instock! i want to buy a few pairs at least and stick them away for later! they are proly the best shoe i have ever had!
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Women's Gretchen Wedge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt a half size larger than marked
Full size smaller
Felt a half size larger than marked
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
Flora

Super comfortable, a little big

Date:November 29, 2012
Pros: comfortable
Cons: a little bigger than sized
I love this shoe. It's so comfortable. I have it in brown, size 9 regular. It feels a little looser than my other size 9 shoes bought at the same time. These shoes have lasted well, after wearing them 3-4 times a month for over a year. Just don't step in puddles. They will darken to almost black if you get them wet, but dry out just fine.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Women's Gretchen Wedge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
dodgelady

My Feet Are Spoiled!!!

Date:October 19, 2012
My feet truly are spoiled in these MaryJanes. I have just ordered my third and fourth pairs of these incredibly comfortable shoes. I am on my feet most of the day, teaching. They are my very favorite shoes. I can wear them with anything from slacks & jeans to skirts & dresses, and I do! I would love to see them become available in some other colors and hope they will always offer these shoes!
21 of 21 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Women's Gretchen Wedge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
fabshoe58
Location:florida
Age:55-64
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

I love this shoe

Date:February 9, 2012
I have been a clergy for 20 years. I am on my feet alot-especially at cemeteries. I typically wear a 7 W.
I have bought every type of black pump imaginable. Over the years Some fit well -some were too pointy (tight) and if too large they would slip off.
I was recently wearing an OLD worn pair just for comfort.
I ordered a non slip black pump online, when it came it fit much too snug at the toe- so I brought it back to a local Payless, and the sales girl brought this out (she was also wearing a pair)
I am not the mary jane type, but once I tried them on they fit BEAUTIFULLY-no slippage, not to tight at the toes and they look fabulous.
Thank you Payless PLEASE do not discontinue this one!
39 of 39 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Women's Gretchen Wedge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
kelli2

best shoe ever

Date:January 22, 2012
Cons: do tend to stretch a little
These are the most comfortable shoes ever! I wear these to work every day and they are wonderful. They give me support as well as comfort and being on my feet all day, that is important. They are also made of cloth which breathes as opposed to many shoes that have other man-made materials that make the foot hot and sweaty.
Love this shoe and highly recommend it!
14 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Women's Gretchen Wedge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
Heelgirl
Location:Houston, TX
Age:45-54
Purchase from Payless:From Both Payless store and Payless.com

Soooo Comfortable!

Date:December 12, 2011
Pros: exceptional comfort!
I bought these in black as an everday shoe. I would give these 10 stars for comfort if the scale went that high! They are cute to wear with most anything, anytime of the day. I bought the brown too and hope other colors will be available soon.
22 of 22 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Gretchen Wedge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
GreaseMonkette
Age:25-34
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

Love them!

Date:November 24, 2011
I work in retail...hard cement floors. I can work the longest shift, not sit down, go up and down stepladders all day, and never have sore feet! I wear a 10W, and these are a true wide width shoe all around-no pinching anywhere! I am going to buy a few of these pairs to have on hand for years to come.
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Women's Gretchen Wedge
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
Louise
Location:Chicago, IL
Age:25-34
Purchase from Payless:From Both Payless store and Payless.com

so glad they are still making these

Date:November 4, 2011
This is the most comfortable work shoe I have ever owned. I have bought 2 black and 1 brown so far. The only reason I got rid of my first pair is because they get really stinky after awhile. But this provides enough of a heel for my shortness and the comfort lasts all day. Going to get another pair yet. I got a half size larger when i found these again in the store, and they rub too much, so stick with your regular size. Thanks!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Women's Gretchen Wedge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
wooo
Location:indianapolis
Age:25-34
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

Good Everyday Shoe

Date:October 3, 2011
This is a pretty good every day shoe. I've been wearing it pretty much everyday for the last 5 months. the style works great as my office dress code is semi formal so this works well with everything I wear. I'm on my feet half the day and I have no complaints about the comfort. my only problem is the shoe is made of suede material which means you have to be careful in the rain. otherwise, absolutely fabulous. I'm going to get 2 pairs of black and one of brown just in case Payless stops making it.
32 of 32 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Women's Gretchen Wedge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
VoutyBlonde
Location:Downtown Denver, CO
Age:55-64
Purchase from Payless:From Both Payless store and Payless.com

Bring this design back

Date:September 21, 2011
This is the perfect shoe for every occassion. I have both the black and the brown. I would love it in navy and red. I would buy it even in an animal print or gold lame'. Payless should contract with the vendor who supplies this shoe to provide it again this season and make it in several colors.
27 of 27 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Women's Gretchen Wedge
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt a half size larger than marked
Full size smaller
Felt a half size larger than marked
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt wider than marked
Narrower than marked
Felt wider than marked
Wider than marked
SassyWalker

Love These!

Date:September 20, 2011
I've had two knee replacements and for over a year have been wearing Crocs, sneakers and unattractive flats. But I'm now working in an office again and need to wear more professional shoes. I bought these with the idea that they might feel a *bit* less terrible than other work shoes, knowing that I'd probably have to kick them off under my desk anyway. What a great surprise! They're comfortable all day long, easy to walk in, professional and attractive. I hope other colors become available so that I can order those, too!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Women's Gretchen Wedge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
Swifthallgirl
Location:Chicago, Illinois
Age:55-64
Purchase from Payless:From Both Payless store and Payless.com

Love this shoe!

Date:May 25, 2011
Pros: extremely comfortable
I needed a "wear to work" shoe.. searching the racks I found this one. What a find. It is so comfortable.. You can wear this shoe everyday if you want, no problems with your feet.. even standing. I found it in black and love that because the shoe goes with anything outfit -- semi dressy or casual. Wish the Payless by me offered it in brown. I was leery about the strap, but its not a real tight fit, and it holds your foot in place. Like I said, love this shoe.
23 of 24 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Women's Gretchen Wedge
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt a full size smaller than marked
Full size smaller
Felt a full size smaller than marked
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt narrower than marked
Narrower than marked
Felt narrower than marked
Wider than marked
furrycreature
Location:Queens, NY
Age:25-34
Purchase from Payless:From Both Payless store and Payless.com

Stylish Shoes...but needs some breaking in

Date:May 5, 2011
Pros: stylish, looks great on your feet, goes with practically everything
Cons: needs some breaking in, elastic strap, suede material
I saw these shoes in store the other day and i fell in love with them. they are so cute and stylish that i just had to get them right away. they fit wonderfully and i walked around in the store a bit and i must say they felt very comfortable, but when i wore them the next day the front of my feet were red and sore. the front of the shoe digs into my feet and makes it hard to move in. i literally couldn't walk in them after about an hour!!! i do think that a little breaking in would be best right now...because i really do love them and would hate to return them.
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Women's Gretchen Wedge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
NoWimps

Wonderful shoe

Date:April 12, 2011
Pros: comfortable, reasonably priced
Cons: not a lot of color selection
I got this shoe about 8 months ago in my local Payless and I wear it everywhere. It dresses up and down perfectly. Unfortunately it's no longer available in my local stores and my size isn't available here. Hopefully they restock soon as I'll buy several to tide me over.
11 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Women's Gretchen Wedge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
Hjay
Location:Washington, DC

Very Comfortable

Date:March 17, 2011
Pros: comfortable, stylish, can wear it day and night
Cons: only comes in one color
I saw these shoes yesterday while browsing the shelves and tried them on. They were extremely comfortable and surprisingly stylish! I bought them immediately. I looked online to see if these came in more colors and unfortuntely, they don't. Hopefully they will offer these in more colors.
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Women's Gretchen Wedge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
Verna
Location:Houston, TX
Age:18-24
Purchase from Payless:From Both Payless store and Payless.com

Date:March 14, 2011
At first, I thought these shoes were ugly, but trying on the shoe changed my mind. They live up to their name and brand. Pretty darn comfortable. I like the added strap because it keeps my feet in. Only complaint is the suede material. I wish it was something else, but suede is easy to keep clean so no problems here.
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Women's Gretchen Wedge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
1BlackPearl
Location:Eastover, SC
Age:25-34
Purchase from Payless:From Both Payless store and Payless.com

My favorite pair of shoes!

Date:December 16, 2010
Pros: comfortable yet stylish
Cons: could have a little more cushion
First of all, I'm disabled and its hard to find stylish, yet comfortable shoes. I first saw these shoes online, and I fell in love instantly. Because of my illness, I usually order my clothing and shoes online. But once I saw these shoes, I immediately called my local store to see if they had them available in my size. The sales person said yes, and she told me that she could hold them for me up to 24 hours.
I rushed to the store the very next day, and I tried them on in the store. I walked around the store for a little while, and I loved how cute they looked. For an added bonus, they have a cute little wedge heel that's actually comfortable.
They are now my favorite pair of shoes. I wear them everywhere, with any outfit. They are very versatile. So if you're looking for that comfortable, stylish, day to night shoe, this is the BEST choice!
42 of 42 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Women's Gretchen Wedge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
FresnoMac
Location:Fresno, California
Age:55-64
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

Wonderful Shoes

Date:December 8, 2010
Due to a medical problem on my left foot I am very limited on the type of shoe I can wear. And usually any type of heel does not work. These shoes are the first heel I have been able to wear in years. When I found these I wore them around the store for about 30 mins. They seemed comfortable so decided to take a chance. It took a couple of days to get my foot used to them but as of today they are perfect. I feel so good wearing them. They feel great and look great. Now I want them in navy blue and red................... I CAN WEAR HEELS AGAIN - YIPEE
26 of 27 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Women's Gretchen Wedge
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
MissProvident

Super Comfortable

Date:October 8, 2010
They are good work shoes. Very cushiony and soft and look nice with pants or skirt.
12 of 12 found this review helpful.