Payless ShoeSource Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Payless ShoeSource
Shop Sport or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Women's Essence Mary Jane Sport

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Payless ShoeSource.

Women's Essence Mary Jane Sport

Average Customer Rating:
4.407 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(54 Reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (54 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
5
48 out of 54(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Women's Essence Mary Jane Sport
Review 1 for Women's Essence Mary Jane Sport
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt a half size smaller than marked
Full size smaller
Felt a half size smaller than marked
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
Jody
Location:Port Arthur, TX
Age:55-64
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

Cute, comfortable shoes!

Date:January 12, 2013
The most comfortable shoes I have bought in a long time. Very stylish too. I would love to have them in several colors, red, brown, & denim would be great. I did find that they ran a little small, I bought mine in the store so when my regular size didn't fit, I just got a half size larger. Thank goodness they came in wide width, so many cute shoes don't. The toebox was ample and gave plenty of room to move toes around, no pinching. Very pleased with this shoe.
22 of 22 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Women's Essence Mary Jane Sport
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
ICURYY
Location:Irving, TX

Great shoes at a great price!

Date:February 26, 2013
These shoes are stylish, comfortable, and are at a great price. I had a 20% off coupon, so it made the purchase much better :).
Love the Velcro strap since I'm pregnant and hate to have to tie shoestrings.
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Women's Essence Mary Jane Sport
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
Carasmom
Location:Houston TX
Age:Over 65
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

More colors, please

Date:December 20, 2012
Pros: versatile, comfortable, good value, true to size
Cons: color selection limited
I'd gladly nominate this product for the title of World's Best Shoe, subcategory: Hard-to-fit feet. It's described as a sneaker but looks more like a flat. The flexible fabric is kind to hammer toes; the inside is padded to soothe tired feet; and the criss-cross strap adjusts the width, provides some support, and adds style. I now have it in every available color, but my first pair (tan) is starting to show wear and I can't find a replacement.
That's the most useful color, so please tell me it hasn't been discontinued!
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Women's Essence Mary Jane Sport
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
april61
Location:Wisconsin
Age:45-54
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

Great for walking!

Date:August 7, 2012
This is a great shoe for many reasons mentioned by other reviewers, but I want to mention that I regularly walk 3 miles in these shoes. They are as comfortable as any walking shoe I've ever purchased. I'm back at the site to buy another pair or two... Thanks, Payless!
63 of 65 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Women's Essence Mary Jane Sport
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
Dandee
Location:Pennsylvania
Age:45-54
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

Great Shoe

Date:August 6, 2012
When I found this shoe I was thrilled how well it fit and looked. I truly love the feminine Mary Jane style. This shoe is durable yet stylish to wear with any of my slacks. I wear a size 12 and bought the black for the summer. I only wish this shoe would come in more colors like pastels and demin. I' sure these shoes would look good with casual dresses too.
14 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Women's Essence Mary Jane Sport
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt a half size smaller than marked
Full size smaller
Felt a half size smaller than marked
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt narrower than marked
Narrower than marked
Felt narrower than marked
Wider than marked
Coopersmomma8
Location:New York
Age:45-54
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

Extremely disappointed!!!

Date:August 4, 2012
Cons: poor quality, rough feel
I saw these shoes and thought they were really cute and easy to maneuver as far as the cross-strap. Wrong!!! 2 days after I purchased this shoe the strap broke!! I took it back with the receipt only to be told I could not return or exchange it because I must have * pulled it too tightly*
I was dumfounded but learned a lesson* You Get What You Pay For* Never again!!!
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Women's Essence Mary Jane Sport
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
Nanita
Location:New Hampshire
Age:55-64
Purchase from Payless:From Payless.com

Great little shoe!

Date:August 3, 2012
Pros: comfortable
Cons: strap length
I absolutely love this shoe! I am required to wear closed in shoes at work and find these fit the bill perfectly as they are comfortable, light and stylish. I hope to see them offered in more colors especially brown and denim blue. I own the balck and pewter and would probably buy most colors except white which doesn't appeal to me. My one negative comment would be I wish the strap was a quarter of an inch longer. I have a high instep and sometimes when I twist my foot the strap pops open because it isn't in contact with that much velcro.
13 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Women's Essence Mary Jane Sport
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
NHFD731
Location:Rindge, NH
Age:18-24
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

Date:July 24, 2012
Pros: breathable, comfortable, stylish
Cons: short straps
I was looking for a shoe to wear to work on casual days. These shoes in black were perfect for the days at work when I have a lot of running around to do. They are breathable for your feet and simple enough to put on. I can wear them with long pants or capri's. Socks or nylon hideable peds work great with these shoes. The only downfall is one of the velcro laces is a little short on the left shoe, and sometimes comes undone when I'm walking around.
Review 9 for Women's Essence Mary Jane Sport
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt a half size larger than marked
Full size smaller
Felt a half size larger than marked
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
daughter2
Age:45-54
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

love

Date:June 15, 2012
purchased these for my mother who is confined to a wheelchair, but wanted something other than a slipper to wear @ the nursing home. When I put them on - the biggest smile came on her face!! She was showing them off to the nurses & aides! She kept thanking me for the pretty shoes and now wants them in other colors. I will definately get the black ones for her to wear to church & other outings. Thank You,Thank You, Thank You!!!!!!
20 of 20 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Women's Essence Mary Jane Sport
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt a half size larger than marked
Full size smaller
Felt a half size larger than marked
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt wider than marked
Narrower than marked
Felt wider than marked
Wider than marked
MissIndra
Age:55-64
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

Most Comfortable Shoes Ever!

Date:May 30, 2012
I just bought a pair of these shoes, and I love them already! They're not only stylish and versatile, but soft, easy on my feet, and can be worn for hours without any discomfort or pain. I look forward to buying more colours. Thanks, Payless!
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Women's Essence Mary Jane Sport
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
whitequeen54
Age:55-64
Purchase from Payless:From Payless.com

Great Fit, Very Comfortable

Date:April 24, 2012
Pros: adjustable fit
Cons: straps too long
When you wear a size 13 with narrow heels, it is very difficult to find shoes that fit. With the adjustable straps, these shoes are great. My only complaint is that the straps were way too long and the velcro didn't go far enough up the strap for me to fasten them securely. I solved this problem by cutting off the straps where the velcro ended and sewing the velcro pieces to the ends of the straps. Now I can fasten them snugly. They do come loose once or twice a day, but it only takes a second to refasten them. I would buy more of them but it looks like they won't be having them much longer.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Women's Essence Mary Jane Sport
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
Mare
Location:Orange County, NY
Age:55-64
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

Love them!

Date:March 22, 2012
Pros: extremely comfortable and stylish.
Cons: need more colors - netted and solid top.
I have been buying these shoes for years. They are the most comfortable ones I have ever owned. I wear them every day on my job, which requires me to be on my feet a lot. I wear them with my jeans, also.
They go with a lot of casual outfits and I can get away with them with my work outfits (pants, blazer - I am a marketing rep.) >.I own several pairs, in black. brown, white - netted ones, as well as the solid top kind. I just wish they would have a few more colors, like navy blue and gray, and would also carry the solid top one as well as the netted top. I had to order the black solid top on line last year (to wear during the winter months) because the local store didn't carry it. And- you can't beat the price!
19 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Women's Essence Mary Jane Sport
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
CherylO
Location:New Mexico
Age:35-44

cute summer shoe

Date:March 18, 2012
Pros: cute, comfy
Cons: need break in period
while my feet stay cool in these fun and funky shoes, they took a breaking in period. I wore them half the day and then switched over to a "broken in" pair till i got use to them. wish i had them in black!
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Women's Essence Mary Jane Sport
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt a half size larger than marked
Full size smaller
Felt a half size larger than marked
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt narrower than marked
Narrower than marked
Felt narrower than marked
Wider than marked
Anonymous
Age:25-34
Purchase from Payless:From Payless.com

:( Cute but don't stay on

Date:March 5, 2012
I love the look of these but beware! The strap is velcro, I couldn't keep them because every step I took the velcro became unfastened! :(
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Women's Essence Mary Jane Sport
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
ilovepayless
Location:Florida
Age:25-34
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

Really Comfortable Shoes

Date:January 24, 2012
Pros: comfort that lasts all day, attractive and good for business casual workplace, airy
Cons: velcro strap tore off my right shoe.
I bought these shoes when I started a new job that required prolonged standing. These shoes were amazing I could stand for hours and the shoes were still comfortable even after my shift. These shoes have adjustable straps which is great because you can adjust them when your feet get swollen. The only downside of these shoes was that my right shoe strap Velcro tape tore off, I am not sure if it was a manufacturer problem or a durability issue. Other than that the shoes were great for work.
Review 16 for Women's Essence Mary Jane Sport
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
vdjones11
Location:Raleigh, NC
Age:35-44
Purchase from Payless:From Both Payless store and Payless.com

love 'em but they wear out

Date:January 22, 2012
Pros: comfortable, look fashioable, washable
Cons: velcro wears out
I have just purchased my 4th pair of these shoes. I LOVE them, especially in the summer, but the velcro does wear out. This means that, after a while, they no longer stay fastened. I wish the fastening was a good bit more durable, but they are still my favorite shoes.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Women's Essence Mary Jane Sport
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
FLZK
Location:Rochester, NY
Age:55-64
Purchase from Payless:From Both Payless store and Payless.com

My go-to shoe

Date:January 8, 2012
Pros: no pressure points
I love this shoe! I wear a size 13 and have foot problems and I'm tall. This shoe is cute with everything, accommodates my arch supports and fits my foot well due to the velcro straps. I have problems with most shoes hurting the tops of my toes and these just form to my foot. I bought them a few years ago in white and pink - now I have them in black. I am checking back with the web site regularly to get a pair in brown or bronze - all of your size 13 are out of stock which makes me think that there are a lot more tall ladies out there than you planned for. Please reorder!
21 of 21 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Women's Essence Mary Jane Sport
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
shoesychoosey
Location:LA
Age:25-34
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

Great work and play shoe

Date:December 9, 2011
Pros: toss it in the wash
Cons: the velcro strap is thin and sometimes slips
I bought this shoe in white and I love them. I wear them everywhere and they go great with jeans or a played down summer dress look. The white get dirty pretty quickly but I just toss them in the washer with my towels and they come out brand new (I air dry them though, takes about two days).
17 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Women's Essence Mary Jane Sport
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
birdgirl
Age:55-64
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

my everyday shoe

Date:November 24, 2011
Pros: comfort, style
I'd been looking and looking for something cute enough and comfortable enough to wear every single day... this is it. Enough padding underfoot to wear all day. Light and feminine looking. Good to walk the dog, work, shop, even go out in the evening if you don't need to be really dressed up. I have two pair and plan to get more colors. My only complaint is -- on both pairs I have so far, the left shoe is cut weirdly... the opening on the top of the shoe slants down toward the little toe, about 1/4" more than on the right-foot shoe. Only a slight annoyance in this wonderful shoe, but an annoyance nonetheless. Hope they keep making this shoe... and add red to the colors available!
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Women's Essence Mary Jane Sport
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
SuperPanda
Location:Indiana
Age:25-34
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

Great Shoe, didn't last long

Date:October 18, 2011
Pros: breathable, comfortable, easy to put on & off
Cons: not durable
I bought this shoe for work in April. I work at a front desk of a hotel, so not too much work, but on my feet for 8hours a day. The shoe is very comfortable, it's breathable and over-all a great shoe! Exactically what I wanted.
Now it's the end of October and it has holes in the soles and a piece off the side is now broken and the mesh started to detach from the binding.
Overall, yes a great shoe, and it was everything I hoped for, but can I afford new work shoes every 6 months?
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>