Payless ShoeSource Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Payless ShoeSource
Shop Slip Resistant or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Men's Comfort Oxford with safeTstep Technology

Men's Comfort Oxford with safeTstep Technology

Average Customer Rating:
3.857 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
9 out of 14(64%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Men's Comfort Oxford with safeTstep Technology
Review 1 for Men's Comfort Oxford with safeTstep Technology
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
tommyz978

Date:February 20, 2013
Got these work shoes well over ago and im just now going to get a new pair. Love it
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Comfort Oxford with safeTstep Technology
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
choosyshoes

Date:March 26, 2013
What makes this shoe great is that it's lightweight, fit's comfortably in your feet, it's durable and it's stylish.
What makes it bad is that it farts. I wear it for less than a month and every time you walk, you would hear air deflation from the shoe. I don't know why, but every pair that I've bought would have the same result.
The shoe is very durable that the outside would end up looking beat up because of the soft leather, which is why they are so comfortable.
Review 3 for Men's Comfort Oxford with safeTstep Technology
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
SirStandsalot
Location:Iowa City, IA
Age:25-34
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

One of the best shoes I've owned

Date:February 20, 2013
Pros: soles and uppers barely wear at all, oil resistant slip resistant water resistant, great style, comfortable, long lasting
Cons: upper eventually separates from sole at heal
I'm currently on my second pair of these, and about to buy another. When I tried them on the first time, I was surprised how comfortable they were, and it just got better from there. I have somewhat large feet (13 and wide), and getting the right fit has always been somewhat of an issue. I got the size 13W of these, and they fit perfectly. I was immediately drawn in to their style as well, and the fact that they are oil, water, and slip resistant is a serious plus. You get the style of a dress shoe, the comfort of a sneaker, and the safety of a non-slip work shoe. I wore a pair of these for over a year while working in a kitchen, and they performed beautifully. Like all shoes, after awhile they begin to deteriorate (especially when put to constant use), but they lasted so long, and performed so well that I did not hesitate to go buy another identical pair. Now, after another year at least, I'm about to get a third pair, and I think I will continue the trend until (God forbid) they stop making them. For the price/quality I'd have no qualms about purchasing a pair every year, but they will definitely last longer than that.
Note: The main reason I have had to get a new pair at all is because the upper part starts to disconnect from the sole around the heal area after 1-2 yrs. If this wasn't the case, these shoes might last 3-5 years no problem.
25 of 26 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Comfort Oxford with safeTstep Technology
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
Morris

Disappointed

Date:July 22, 2012
Pros: comfortable
Cons: new model of this shoe lighter and cheapend
I have been buying this shoe for, I think, over ten years. It has been my absolutely favorite shoe and the only one I have purchased for everyday work use. However, the last pair I bought was very obviously lighter weight than all of my previous shoes. It is still wonderfully comfortable for my hard to fit feet, but it is clearly now more cheaply made with corner cutting on materials. My previous shoes have hollow soles and that is where they wear out. On my new shoes, the uppers appear the same as before so they have probably lost material in the soles. I doubt it can be as durable as before and they were only moderately durable before. For my next shoe purchase, I will be looking elsewhere to find a good shoe.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Comfort Oxford with safeTstep Technology
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
DisneyCastMember

Work Shoes That Work

Date:May 25, 2012
Pros: i'm on my feet all day but my feet feel great, cleans up well with good polish and brushing
Cons: "standard" laces tend to break invest in new ones
I first bought these shoes 7 years ago, before I started my (then) new job, at Disneyland, where one is required to wear black, polished, lace-up shoes. The first time I tried them on, I felt that they fit perfectly, not an easy task with my odd shaped, flat, wide feet. But these really worked out, and wearing them everyday non-stop is hardly a burden. They do however tend to wear out, and personally manage to wear out a pair in about a year's time. So, as a reminder of my hiring in anniversary, I usually celebrate with a new pair!
13 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Comfort Oxford with safeTstep Technology
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
Jimbo

Fell apart after a few Months!

Date:November 15, 2011
Pros: fit, comfort
Cons: very cheap quality
The shoes were comfortable and fit well to size. I just wish they lasted longer. The shoes were not subjected to harsh strain as I only have an office job. I sit at my desk all day. The sole on the right shoe disbanded from leather uppers. Basically, the shoe split apart. Had the soles been stitched it would not have happened. They lasted almost exactly six months. Not even a year!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Comfort Oxford with safeTstep Technology
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
James
Location:Maryland
Age:45-54
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

Perfect Shoes

Date:November 1, 2011
Pros: never fall apart, can last more than 6 yrs
Cons: insoles lasts a year
I am going to buy this brand third time. I used this brand twice, it never fall apart, the insoles fell apart and I bought gel insoles to replace it. My current shoes are 4 years old, still good condition but the odor is too great to manage, there are tons of foot sweat in there. I kept my first set for my gardening work, it is about 8 years old. It is tough like 1930's pickup truck, still in good condition.
12 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Comfort Oxford with safeTstep Technology
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
Steve0261
Location:NYC
Age:45-54
Purchase from Payless:From Both Payless store and Payless.com

Reliable, Comfortable, But Wear Easily

Date:August 5, 2011
Pros: comfort, support
Cons: pricey considering the lifespan
I buy 2-3 pair of these every year for the past 6 or 7 years. Great comfort and fit (for my wide feet). The only problem is that some of the stitching wear out quickly - around the top-front and sides of the shoe. I wear these almost every day, rotating through three pair, but even with every third day use, the stitching starts to unravel in about 2 months. GREAT SHOES FOR EVERYDAY USE - but keep a backup or alternate if you need to dress for any formal occasion!
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Men's Comfort Oxford with safeTstep Technology
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
Stanleybeamish
Location:Florida
Age:45-54
Purchase from Payless:From Both Payless store and Payless.com

Great Buy!!!

Date:July 21, 2011
I work in the Security field and have tried several different types of shoe...these shoes for the money have lasted a long time...the sole insert that comes with it broke down but the shoe itself was still in great shape so I purchased a gel insert and the shoes lasted me over a year. I purchased another pair and have recommended these shoes to co-workers.
22 of 24 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Men's Comfort Oxford with safeTstep Technology
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
Anonymous
Location:APO
Age:35-44
Purchase from Payless:From Payless.com

Looks great, but actually broke in half

Date:March 26, 2011
Pros: style
Cons: quality is bad
After wearing these for only two months before they actually broke in half at the bottom of the sole! Due to Payless refund policy for no returns of worn shoes, I just threw them away. I will still buy from Payless, but stay-away from these. My case may have been unique, but I am not about to take another chance with this particular pair.
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Men's Comfort Oxford with safeTstep Technology
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
TimL
Location:San Francisco
Age:55-64
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

Simply the best shoes I ever owned!

Date:December 19, 2010
Pros: durability, comfort, versatile styling, price
Cons: finding laces that work well
I'm over 60 years old and have owned a lot of shoes and boots in my lifetime. I bought a pair of these shoes off the shelf at a payless store over fifteen years ago. I don't know if I got that one pair of shoes off the assembly line that was charmed or a pair that was made better than the rest, but I have worn these shoes nearly every day to work in a corrosive salt manufacturing environment, deep inside salt mines, climbing up and down dozens of pyramids in central Mexico, on humid jungle trails in Guatemala and Belize, sightseeing on the streets of London, Dominica, Canada and Bahamas and in nearly every major city in the USA. I've worn them in all weather conditions from sub-zero temperatures in Canada and the US to torrential rains, heat and humidity of the tropics. They are my primary, every-day wear shoes and have been as long as I've owned them. They are still in good condition and I think I could wear them another decade or more. The single problem I've ever had is finding laces that fit them well. I'm only buying another pair now because I'm afraid they will no longer be available when they finally become too worn out to be useable. These shoes have been absolutey terrific. I don't, nor have I ever done anything that could be called taking special care of them. It's so rare these days to find a product that isn't designed to wear out or break down in a week.
34 of 36 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Men's Comfort Oxford with safeTstep Technology
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
Godzilla
Location:Ruston, LA
Age:45-54
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

Shoe review

Date:November 26, 2010
Pros: comfortable for back pain and standing long hours
I had a spinal fusion a couple of years ago and I needed a dress shoe that would double as a work shoe. I haven't found much I can wear that won't aggravate my back pain until I bought these. Not a $500.00 dollar loafer or dress shoe, I can make them work for nearly everything but a tuxedo. For the price, I'm happy.
14 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Men's Comfort Oxford with safeTstep Technology
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt narrower than marked
Narrower than marked
Felt narrower than marked
Wider than marked
Jeff25
Location:Marble Falls Texas
Age:25-34
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

NOT a good Buy!

Date:August 22, 2010
Pros: slip resistance
Cons: heel!!!!!!, not wide enought
They look ok and fill good at the store but when you work in them for 8 hours they really do NOT live up to the name. the heel is the worst part it fills like it is pinching and causing a blister!! Yes only after 2 days of wearing them i have a blister! They also say wide.....not so much they fill like a pare of $5 shoes i bought from a thrift store! Not worth the money!!! I was really hoping they would be a good buy at $45 but i WILL be returning for somthing else. I hope!
7 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Men's Comfort Oxford with safeTstep Technology
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt a full size larger than marked
Full size smaller
Felt a full size larger than marked
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
Jason
Location:Texas
Age:35-44
Purchase from Payless:From Payless.com

Work Shoe

Date:June 29, 2010
Pros: comfortable
Cons: leather looks worn quickly
This is the best and most comfortable work shoe payless has to offer. I have to wear slip resistant shoes for work and I can't wear tennis shoe style, I have to wear dressy to casual. This is the best shoe by payless in that catagory. The shoe does began to look rough after a couple of months though.
11 of 12 found this review helpful.