Payless ShoeSource Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Payless ShoeSource
Shop All Youth Shoes or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Girls' Mary Jane

Girls' Mary Jane

Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
13 out of 17(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Girls' Mary Jane
Review 1 for Girls' Mary Jane
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
NotImpressed
Age:35-44

Impressed! Impressed!

Date:July 31, 2013
After being burned by a similar "finer" shoe, I took a chance on this one. So glad I did. I bought these shoes in December of 2012 and my daughter, who is very hard on her shoes and wore them practically every day, will be wearing the same shoes again this year. They show very little wear. I plan to buy another pair a size bigger so she will be ready for when she grows out of them.
22 of 25 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Girls' Mary Jane
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
MaryinCT
Location:CT
Age:45-54
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

Excellent school shoe in a true "wide" width

Date:December 16, 2013
Pros: wide, classic design
Cons: not leather
I am so grateful for these school shoes that are actually wide. All the fancy brands' wide width shoes were too narrow. These are great. They are pretty timeless, easy on-off, and look great. My only complaint is that since they are leather, they get stinky, the toes have also worn through pretty quickly and the liner wore out. I was able to replace the liner using an adult's odor-eater foam liner, just cut down to size. I've stocked up in the upcoming sizes in case Payless makes the tragic mistake of discontinuing this great shoe. Other colors would be great, so would a patent leather variety. More wide width shoes please!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Girls' Mary Jane
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
Genvieve
Location:San Francisco
Age:Under 18
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

They are great!

Date:December 14, 2013
So , my mom has been buying me these shoes since I was 2 years old, and now I'm 13 I still like them! This year I got the size 6. The shoes are a classic they never go out of style! Well there is only one negative thing about this shoe, for the first week when I wore it the back of the shoe hurt the back of my foot so I had to put a bandaid. But now, it no longer hurts. I always expect that with new shoes. Anyway, these shoes are great and I reccommend you buy them!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Girls' Mary Jane
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
Larala
Location:CA
Purchase from Payless:From Both Payless store and Payless.com

Not really impressed but not all is bad

Date:December 2, 2013
Pros: comfortable, nice looking
Cons: faux leather peels off in front, sole does not last
Well, the shoes are nice looking and comfortable and my 8-year-old loves them, so I have bought already several pairs and will probably buy them again. But durability for a child who's hard on shoes? I don't think so! If your child is a kicker like mine is, it will take just days for the faux leather upper to show just how faux it is and to peel off in the front. It suddenly looks like an old shoe. As for the sole, it won't last long if your child walks and runs. Would I recommend this shoe? Yes, with reservations. All in all, it is a nice shoe (just nor for kicking or running).
Review 5 for Girls' Mary Jane
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
DMRG

YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR!!!!

Date:November 6, 2013
These shoes are cheap but they are made cheap also! I bought a pair in September for my 5 year old daughter to wear with her school uniform and the material on the outside of the shoe is peeling off! I knew they probably wouldnt last long but I was hoping they would last longer then that! She told me the other day she was going to ask Santa Clause for a new pair of shoes!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Girls' Mary Jane
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
swksmom
Location:SW KS
Age:35-44
Purchase from Payless:From Both Payless store and Payless.com

Great Active Dress Shoe

Date:May 13, 2013
Pros: versatile, affordable
Cons: not highest quality
My 6 year old has had several pairs of these over the past few years. They are a great staple to her wardrobe as they are very versatile, and comfortable. She has a narrow foot so the adustable strap is great. The shoes do scuff easily. I usually darken the area with a marker. Shoe are great for school, dress & play.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Girls' Mary Jane
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
Melilyemijo
Location:Mobile, Al
Age:Over 65
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

Need more of these in different colors

Date:April 27, 2013
I am a 69 year old woman that wears a size 4 wide youth shoe. I have been wearing these Mary Jane smart fit shoes since 1997. They are the only shoes I have been able to find that fit my little wide feet. They are so comfortable with the thick wedge since I have only been able to wear a thicker wedge sole since I broke a bone in the middle of my arch on one of my feet.
The only con is that I wish they came in different colors in my size and that I could find them more often. Sometimes it takes a year of continuous looking in the stores all around my home town for me to find a pair in my size.
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Girls' Mary Jane
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
ReneeDenee

Terrible Shoe

Date:April 7, 2013
Pros: the right color, good fit, approved for her uniform
Cons: quality of the shoe is very poor
Was not happy with the quality of this shoe at all. Most of the reviews I read said how great the shoe held up to average wear and tear. Previously I had purchased a similar pair from a different store and they basically fell apart after about 2 months and so decided to purchase these for school; after the 2nd week of my daughter wearing them the skin of the shoes started peeling and now after a few months they have almost completely worn a through.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Girls' Mary Jane
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
MommyMo
Age:25-34
Purchase from Payless:From Both Payless store and Payless.com

Great shoe! But highly uncomfortable!

Date:February 28, 2013
Pros: quality, fit, look great!
Cons: hard
I purchased this shoe for my daughter to wear to school with her uniforms. The only complaint is that my daughter says they are hard and by the end of the day her feet are sore.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Girls' Mary Jane
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
GoToni23
Age:35-44
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

Perfect for Wide Feet

Date:September 23, 2012
Pros: good for wide feet
My child has wide feet and it's difficult to find shoes that fit her. Initially I shopped at a high end retailer that costs more thinking I'd find a true fit for her but it turned out to be a waste of time. I ended up at Payless finding these cute MJ shoes at a bargain with wide width sizes! Kudos to Payless! They fit her perfectly and she's rough in her shoes so they are durable. MJ's are a classic. I bought them with a coupon but even without that it's still an awesome price. Highly recommend them for big, wide feet.
16 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Girls' Mary Jane
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
BeccaBelle26

Perfect School Shoe!

Date:April 20, 2012
At the beginning of the school year I bought two pairs of shoes for my daughter to go with her school uniform. I bought one pair of brown mary janes from another store and this mary jane in navy blue, mostly because I couldn't find navy shoes anywhere else. She has worn both pairs of shoes about equally. Now we are near the end of the school year and the brown shoes (which were more expensive) look tattered and worn (my daughter plays HARD, just like all the boys) and wears them for PE several days a week, but these look practically new. She loves them and they have held up in all sorts of weather and all sorts of games on the play ground. They are a great shoe and I would pay twice the price for them as they hold up so well. I'm very happy with them and recommend them, especially if your school has a uniform.
28 of 29 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Girls' Mary Jane
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
mariew
Location:california
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

durable shoe

Date:December 11, 2011
Had to purchase black dress shoes for my daughter's school. These shoes are holding up great. Her shoes get scuffed quickly around the toes, but these have not. She is just as rough and tough in these as with any other shoe. Highly recommend. Will buy bigger size for next year.
15 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Girls' Mary Jane
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
TXmom

Fantastic school shoe

Date:November 6, 2011
Pros: sturdy, comfortable
Bought these wondering if they could hold up to daily wear with school uniform. They have exceeded our expectations. I will definitely continue to buy this shoe for my girl!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Girls' Mary Jane
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
Glory
Location:Williamsburg, VA
Age:35-44
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

Best School shoes!

Date:September 30, 2011
Last year I bought at other store a pair of shoes for my dd school (she was in kinder) thinking that they were more expensive they would be good... but I was wrong... the skin of the shoes start coming off the first week of school... so I decided to buy this ones at Payless and they last the whole year!! I try to used them for this year but they didn't fit her... so I didn't waist my time in other stores and went directly and got this ones again...
14 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Girls' Mary Jane
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
paige2755

Great School Shoe

Date:August 17, 2011
I will purchase these again for the third school year in a row. My daughter is five and has slightly narrow feet. Most velcro closures do not allow enough velcro on the strap to give her a secure fit, unless they are the shoes from the well known childrens shoe store. With the price of these I buy both the blue and the black. When they start to scuff, I use shoe polish. They have always lasted the entire school year. They look great with dresses, jeans, or even nice sweatsuits. They really show off her tights. These are our everyday shoes. I really appreciate the price, especially during BOGO!
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Girls' Mary Jane
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
fimomma
Age:25-34
Purchase from Payless:From Both Payless store and Payless.com

Cute shoe, but cheap material.

Date:July 26, 2011
These were adorable and perfect for my daughter. Easy on and off. After one day of wear, the black on the toe wore off all the way down to the fabric. They looked horrible after that. I even tried using a marker to color it in, but they just looked cheap. I'd go with the real leather next time.
15 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Girls' Mary Jane
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
momm
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

Perfect School Shoe

Date:October 2, 2010
Pros: comfort, look, price
So glad we found this shoe! My daughter wears this shoe everyday to school with her uniform. She is five years old and says they are very comfortable- she really likes this shoe. It fits her well and she has never complained of its comfort. The price was perfect too! We saw a similar shoe at the uniform shoe store for $40. Thank you payless for making this shoe. Highy recommend! It also looks nice with pants and other dresses.
56 of 56 found this review helpful.