Payless ShoeSource Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Payless ShoeSource
Shop Sneakers or
Choose a Category

Customer Reviews for Men's Double Strap Walker

Men's Double Strap Walker

Average Customer Rating:
3.583 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
5
17 out of 24(71%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Men's Double Strap Walker
Review 1 for Men's Double Strap Walker
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt a half size larger than marked
Full size smaller
Felt a half size larger than marked
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
tge63
Location:Shreveport , La
Age:45-54
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

Great shoe

Date:July 31, 2013
I've been buying this shoe a good 20 years. I have wide feet that hurt while standing 12+ hrs a day at work. I work in oil and chemicals and climb across sharp edges of engine blocks. Just about any abuse you can throw at a shoe I do. I'm unable to wear work boots because they are just too uncomfortable. Most athletic shoes (even the $150 ones) only last 1 to 3 mnths in my line of work. But these somehow manage to last twice as long as any other. And for $30 a pair that saves me a lot of money in shoes. I agree with some reviews they don't last as long as they used to but they still outlast, in durability and comfort, all the rest by a country mile. I've read some reviews complaining about them not lasting over 2 years. They're $30 a pair, There are plenty on shoes out there that I'm sure will last you several years if you want to fork over a couple hundred bucks. As long as they can keep the price down I'm happy with my 6 mnths in a shop that was built to KILL shoes in three. They are getting hard to find at my store so I'm glad they have them online. I didnt even know they had white till I saw them here. Now I'll have to get me a white pair for my work around the house.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Men's Double Strap Walker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt a full size larger than marked
Full size smaller
Felt a full size larger than marked
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt wider than marked
Narrower than marked
Felt wider than marked
Wider than marked
tubatootert
Location:Red Bluff, CA
Age:Over 65
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

Favorite Shoe

Date:September 14, 2013
Pros: extremely comfortable
Cons: i do not have one complaint.
I am a three hundred pounder who has worn these very comfortable "Trekker" double strapped shoes for many years and would not consider anything else. I have square danced many miles in them along with wearing them as casual and work shoe. I have bad knees and had to switch to the strapped from the stringed Trekkers and have found the strapped support my feet very well. They take polish well and can be thrown into the washer (white ones). They are the most comfortable shoe, and for the price, one can't beat it. I pack a lot of weight and these shoes have taken it and proven to me to be my best buy. I love them.,
39 of 40 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Men's Double Strap Walker
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
alabama12

A 15 year wearer of this shoe

Date:July 22, 2013
Pros: felt as good as bedroom slippers
Cons: poor quality
Has been a very comfortable shoe over the years and several purchases of this item over time.
This last pair lasted under 2 years, with splitting of the soles all the way across the middle on the left shoe & all the way across the right shoe in 3 placesI still have an older pair left that has no problems with the sole, just the usual tears on the left top.
i hope management looks into the manufacture process & get these shoes back into a quality production again.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Men's Double Strap Walker
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt narrower than marked
Narrower than marked
Felt narrower than marked
Wider than marked
Jake
Location:LA area
Age:Over 65
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

Crosstrekkers

Date:June 7, 2013
I have been buying CrossTrekkers for many years. I loved them. I am currently wearing a pair that are at least 5 years old and I have 4 more pair that are much older. They got marked up and dirty but they held together even after cleaning in the washing machine. I used to buy mostly white but I couldn't get them for several years so recently I switched to black. The quality of the shoe is terrible. The heels wear out within a few months and the heels and soles come apart. I just threw a pair away that were less than 6 months old. I used to buy them 2 or three pair at a time, but no more, until the quality improves. I still have 2 pair (black) which the store clerk said were of improved quality. It is too early to tell.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Men's Double Strap Walker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
luna2013
Location:Houston,TX
Age:25-34
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

great shoe for special boy

Date:January 12, 2013
I love this shoes because it helps me and my special autism-mental impaired son the right shoe: because its easy to put on an take off himself. I hope Payless keeps it as a special line in all sizes, having in mind those special parents and kids like mine for whom now days is hard to find the right shoes to fit their needs. Thank you
Payless a five star.*****
61 of 64 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Men's Double Strap Walker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
Jose
Location:Knoxville, TN
Age:55-64
Purchase from Payless:From Both Payless store and Payless.com

Bought for Years and Will Keep Buying

Date:November 12, 2012
Pros: comfortable, good for prostheses, easy to put on
Cons: not overly durable
I've been wearing these for years now. I have a fifty-year history of RA, have prosthetics that I must wear in my shoes, and am unable to bend to fasten shoes and so use a "Golden Retriever" reacher stick that works great to fasten the velcro straps. For comfort, I remove the insoles and replace them with Dr. Scholl's gel sport insoles atop my prostheses.
For me and my situation, these shoes are ideal and the most comfortable that I've ever been able to find, and, believe me, I've done plenty of looking. I will agree with some other reviewers that these aren't as well-made nor as long lasting as they used to be. Seriously, though, people -- they're only $30 a pair!!! If you can get them BOGO, your cost is $15 a pair! For someone who is extremely active and constantly on their feet, another choice might be better. For most though, I believe these shoes will be superb.
32 of 35 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Men's Double Strap Walker
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
dave9369
Age:55-64
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

great deal

Date:September 4, 2012
Pros: lightweight
these shoes are comfortable, light weight and great for walking in. Also the easy strap on is ideal for every one , especially the elderly.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Men's Double Strap Walker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt a full size smaller than marked
Full size smaller
Felt a full size smaller than marked
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
TBone
Age:55-64
Purchase from Payless:From Both Payless store and Payless.com

Best everyday shoe

Date:August 24, 2012
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: very comfortable, easy to put on and go!
Cons: kinda nerdy looking
I used to buy these at the local payless store, until they stopped carrying them. I found them online, and I have been buying them here for years. I have gone through more than 20 pairs. Seriously at least 20 pairs! I buy them 4 pair at a time, and wear them (every day, for a few months) till they get dirty, then switch to a new pair. When I have a bunch of dirty shoes, I throw them in the wash, and it is like a new set of shoes. Nothing comes close in comfort. I like nice wide shoes.
Unfortunately, this time Payless is out of stock on almost all the sizes of the White shoe. I have one pair left. I hope they restock in the next few months. I would hate to have to find a different shoe.
27 of 28 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Men's Double Strap Walker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
Mzfrizzle

Excellent shoe for problem feet

Date:April 17, 2012
If you are looking for a shoe with excellent comfort stop looking this shoe is for you! My son (little kid big feet) is on his second pair. There are no more complaints about ankle rubbing and toe squishing. This pair has even improved in quality over the last pair he had. I would highly recommend these shoes for problem feet.
23 of 23 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Men's Double Strap Walker
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Comfort: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
Matt
Location:North Carolina
Age:25-34
Purchase from Payless:From Payless.com

Fell apart in a couple of weeks

Date:February 9, 2012
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: very cheap, fit me
Cons: fall apart easily, very low quality, not worth even the low price
I bought these shoes to wear at work as a cashier.
Within a couple weeks, the sole literally ripped in 2 on the left shoe. Luckily I ordered 2 different pairs of shoes from this site, and the second held up a little longer.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Men's Double Strap Walker
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
rip2shred
Location:Southern California
Age:45-54
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

Comfotable shoe in Black

Date:December 7, 2011
Pros: comfotable, reasonable price
Cons: don't last as long as they used to
When I first bought the Crosstrekker, they lasted up to 2 years. Now they last me just over a year. Yes maybe they are not as durable as they used to be. Compared to some other products with a bigger name recognition, I'll continue to buy this brand. Especially since the other guys don't make them in the USA anymore either. I'm not up to brand loyalty, but I've been wearing these shows since 2005, and the callouses on the sole of my foot have seemed to disappear, and haven't come back. The black ones also breathe better than the white ones, and seem to fit better.
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Men's Double Strap Walker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
easonc52
Location:West Valley City, UT
Age:55-64
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

I love these shoes!

Date:September 8, 2011
Pros: comfort
I've been buying and wearing these for years.
I love the ease of putting them on, the velcro straps, and the comfort.
I always have 2 pairs. One I use at home for casual and working around the home, and one for wearing to work. They are professional enough for a call center that requires business casual, and I've never been confronted over being too casual for work.
When the home pair wears out, I buy a new pair for work, and the old work pair becomes my home casual and working around the home pair.
One of the best things about these shoes over the years, is that I've been able to find them when needing a replacement pair, at Payless!
I've even purchased them a couple times with a buy one get one free, or buy one and the other half off offer.
I do love these shoes!
34 of 39 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Men's Double Strap Walker
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt a half size smaller than marked
Full size smaller
Felt a half size smaller than marked
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt narrower than marked
Narrower than marked
Felt narrower than marked
Wider than marked
Kingwest
Age:45-54
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

Avoid the White model, it's made differently now.

Date:July 31, 2011
Cons: white version - toebox is too small., white version - too narrow., white ver. - unneeded extra padding around ankle.
The black model of these shoes is still being made the old way and is very comfortable. But avoid the white model. The white model wasn't available for a while and it's being made differently now. The toebox is smaller, it's narrower and has more padding around the ankle, which was never a problem to begin with. You can see the difference in the padding around the ankle in the overhead view shots of both shoes. The new version of the white model isn't just uncomfortable, it's actually painful to wear for prelonged periods of time. The white model has been marked with a "limited quantities" tag, so either they're going to go back to the old way of making it, or they're going to change it even more, which doesn't inspire a lot of confidence.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Men's Double Strap Walker
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
Merv
Location:Southern California
Age:55-64
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

Durability problem

Date:July 18, 2011
Cons: durability not reasonable
The heels of this shoe wore out in about 2 months. Holes were visible.
The wear was incredibly fast, unlike anything I have seen before.
I have bought shoes in this category for about 40 years and I know
what I am talking about.
This was something I have not experienced before.
I hope the company is aware that these soles are worthless.
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Men's Double Strap Walker
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
repeatbuyer
Location:orlando, FL
Age:45-54
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

great product - cheaply constructed

Date:June 22, 2011
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: light weight, comfortable, velcro straps, wide width
Cons: poor sole design, sole cracks after 6 mo, shoe will seperate from sole
I have been buying these shoes for almost 5yrs now and I am wrighting this review to say that when I first bought the shoes they were much better in construction and design than they are now. I used to get about a year or 18 months of use out of them but now I am lucky to get 6 months. My problem has been the sole cracking in half along the instep flex line. This is because of the poor choice in material as older designs of this shoe did not have this problem. This is the second pair in a row that this has happened to. I wish these shoes came with a warranty to replace them if they fail because they do. I use them as my every day work and casual shoe and they get almost constant use. I like the Velcro straps and the wide width. I wish they would go back to a different sole design like on the "Safetystep" line of shoes. I am debating on whether or not to buy them again.
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Men's Double Strap Walker
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
middleAger
Location:cleveland, ohio
Age:45-54
Purchase from Payless:From Both Payless store and Payless.com

love this shoe, but not durable

Date:June 2, 2011
I have been buying this shoe for about 10 years. it is so comfortable. I wear it to work, so i'd prefer if they had a style variation that was a bit more business-like. The biggest issue is that the shoe is not durable, must be replaced 2-3 times per year. It gets cracks in the upper materials, or comes apart at the seams. But they still get my business since i haven't found anything else as comfortable and the overall value is still there (i always buy 2 sets at a time during BOGO)
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Men's Double Strap Walker
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
rednex
Location:Pittsburgh, PA
Age:55-64
Purchase from Payless:From Both Payless store and Payless.com

still buying

Date:April 26, 2011
Pros: overall value, comfort
Cons: durability
MOST COMFORTABLE shoe I have ever bought. Out of the box - put them on - PERFECT! Love the velcro, as my manual dexterity for tying a shoe is almost non-existent. Style is not an issue. Comfort and ease are primary. Cost used to be the third "ace in the hand" but it is still a good buy, especially during BOGO time. However, durability has fallen off at a progressive rate. The shoe would last the better part of 2 yrs. Now, they begin to fall apart within a year. Separation of uppers from lowers, usually, but not restricted, to the instep area, is the durability issue. Until the price reaches the level at which I will seek alternative buying habits, I remain as the REVIEW TITLE suggests, still buying
t
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Men's Double Strap Walker
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
CrosstrekkersRule
Location:Central California
Age:Over 65
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

Comfortable & Economical

Date:March 11, 2011
I wear these men's shoes almost exclusively although I am a woman. I need to wear instep inserts and they are more comfortable with these rather than with women's shoes. My last pair of these cracked across the wide part of the sole. I had done a lot of squatting with my shoes at a bent angle and suspect that caused the cracked opening with a view of the inner part of the sole. I still like these shoes and will just be a little more careful about squatting to help avoid the problem. The tops are easy to wipe clean with a sponge and water. The Velcro makes it quick and easy to put them on or take them off. I go through about two pair a year and when I buy them at the BOGO rate, they are very economical.
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Men's Double Strap Walker
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Comfort: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt a half size larger than marked
Full size smaller
Felt a half size larger than marked
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
sewm1
Location:Metairie, LA
Age:35-44
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

Wear

Date:March 10, 2011
Pros: cheap
The right shoe feel apart at sole. Bottom of shoe came unglued.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Men's Double Strap Walker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Comfort: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shoe Size: 
Felt true to size
Full size smaller
Felt true to size
Full size larger
Shoe Width: 
Felt true to width
Narrower than marked
Felt true to width
Wider than marked
mooneyes
Location:California
Age:45-54
Purchase from Payless:From a Payless store

Lightweight and Comfortable

Date:July 19, 2010
Pros: lightweight, wide width
I love the velcro, it make it easy to put them on. They are very lightweight and comfortable. I have worn mine for over a year for work. It is hard for me to find a wide enough and a confortable enough shoe since my foot swells from a compound fracture in the past.
42 of 43 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>